- How to know if you have been blocked on WhatsApp
- How to send a WhatsApp to someone who has blocked you
Surely, you have ever thought about blocking a WhatsApp contact. The most used messaging application in the world allows us to communicate with all the contacts that we have added and with those who have our phone number. If you don’t want someone to talk to you, the best option is to block it from the WhatsApp application, done in a straightforward and fast way.
Today, we show you how to block someone on WhatsApp, the consequences, how to know if you have been blocked, and the best tricks related to blocking. If you want to know everything about this topic, stay with us, since we will tell you everything right now.
How to block a contact on WhatsApp
Block a contact you have saved
To block a contact from your phonebook on WhatsApp, you have to go to the menu, and in the privacy settings, add a user to the blocked list. Not clear to you? We explain it step by step.
- Tap the Menu Button
- Go to the settings section
- Now, go to the account section
- Go to blocked contacts
- Tap the add contact icon
- Select the contact you want to block
That easy. In this way, you can make a list of blocked contacts on WhatsApp. You can consult it to know at all times which contacts you have blocked, quickly and conveniently.
Block a contact that you don’t have saved
In some cases, someone may get our phone number and try to talk to us. If you want to block someone, not on your contact list, you have to do the following.
- Go to the chat with the unknown number
- Open the menu
- Hit block contact
It is done. You have blocked someone who was not on your list in the WhatsApp application. He will no longer be able to speak to you with that phone number, and it will be automatically added to your list of blocked contacts.
What happens when blocking someone on WhatsApp?
We have already seen the process to block a contact on WhatsApp, but what happens next? Can you contact us again? Can you see our profile picture? These are some consequences of blocking someone on WhatsApp:
- The WhatsApp messages that I send you will not reach you, as will their statuses (since they are sent as a normal image, and WhatsApp blocks the sending). Nor will he be able to call you or make video calls.
- It will not see your profile picture or the last connection time (which may reveal that you have blocked it).
- They won’t see your WhatsApp statuses.
- They won’t know if you are online.
- You will also not be able to send messages (or files), call, or make video calls to blocked contacts.
If you plan to block a contact on WhatsApp, you already know everything there is to know about it. However, even if you block the contact, they will still have you on their contact list, and you cannot do anything to prevent it. What you can do, if you wish, is remove it from your own list. To do this, you have to delete it from your contact list; that way, WhatsApp will update and delete that person.
If you are the one who has been blocked, the messages you send to whoever has blocked you will only appear with a tick since the double tick means that the other person has received it and, as is evident, if someone is blocked, they will not receive your messages. If you want to know more about this, we recommend our article knowing if you have been blocked on WhatsApp.
Tricks for blocked users on WhatsApp
They may have blocked you on WhatsApp, but you have the urgent need to write to the person who did it. From here, we invite you to respect the privacy and the decision of the person who has blocked you, and it is your responsibility to try to communicate with someone who has decided not to write anymore.
“If someone has blocked you, it is your responsibility to contact them again.”
Even so, it is possible to send a WhatsApp message to someone who has blocked you. There are several methods, so we list them below so you can try the one you want.
- Ask a friend for the phone number, add the contact to your list and send the message.
- Ask a friend to make a WhatsApp group your blocked contact is; he can read the messages.
- Create a virtual number, link your WhatsApp account, and write to it from that number
Block someone on WhatsApp without them noticing
Many ask us if it is possible to block someone on WhatsApp without their realizing it. We are very sorry, but the answer is a resounding no. If you block someone on WhatsApp, they will not see your profile picture; they will not be able to access your multimedia content, States … They will know that you have blocked them, inevitably.
If you decide to block someone, they will know it instantly, so no, there is no method to block someone on WhatsApp and go unnoticed.
In short, blocking someone on WhatsApp has its consequences; it is not something that permanently prevents you from writing to that person again, and it is not something that can be hidden from your contacts.
If you have decided to block someone, you must be clear about the consequences, and if they block you, you already know how to find out and how you can try to talk to that person again -under your responsibility-. We recommend that you use WhatsApp with education and respect, that you avoid SPAM and inappropriate content to avoid being blocked from the application.
Sharlene Meriel is an avid gamer with a knack for technology. He has been writing about the latest technologies for the past 5 years. His contribution in technology journalism has been noteworthy. He is also a day trader with interest in the Forex market.