In recent years, Instagram and Facebook have reduced harassment and spam within their main platforms through different measures that give the millions of users of each social network the possibility of better control various aspects related to content. One of the most useful functions that have landed on Instagram since the arrival of Stories to the service is the possibility of blocking people and thus preventing them from seeing the Stories published on the profile.
Whatever the reason, it is possible to hide Instagram Stories from anyone so that the content is only visible to others. In this guide, we explain how to do it step by step, as well as to check if you have been blocked by any of the Instagram users you follow.
Block users from seeing your Stories
Although it seems obvious, we must bear in mind that if someone is blocked on Instagram Stories, that person will stop seeing all the content published in our Stories from that moment. That said, the steps to follow are as follows:
- On Instagram, open your profile and display the side menu of options.
- Access the Settings panel, and enter the Privacy and security section.
- Go to the Story Controls menu, and in Hide Story A, select all those users you don’t want to see the content. Save changes
In case you want to unblock someone, it will be enough to carry out the same process, but unchecking those specific users that we want to see the content of the stories again. It should also be borne in mind that, in case of blocking a profile on Instagram – not only hiding the Stories – that person will stop seeing both the content of the Stories, as well as the new publications of our feed.
Find out if your Stories have been blocked.
Hiding Instagram Stories from someone is easy. But, is it possible to know if someone has blocked us? The answer is yes, but I am afraid that the process to follow is not as simple as the previous one since Instagram does not offer an option to check which users have decided to hide their Stories from us.
The most obvious way to check if someone has blocked us is through an account other than ours, such as a friend or family member, or simply an account created for this sole purpose. If, when accessing the profile of a specific user from another Instagram account, we verify that content that is not visible from our account, that user has likely decided to hide the content of their Stories from us for some reason.
Another way to check if someone has blocked us from their Instagram Stories is by accessing their profile from the browser through an incognito tab. This will show both your profile content and available Stories that have been recently posted. One detail to keep in mind is that this process only works if the profile in question is not private. In that case, this solution is of little use.
More about Instagram on Andro4all
- How to activate notifications of posts on Instagram from accounts you follow
- How to download Instagram photos
Sharlene Meriel is an avid gamer with a knack for technology. He has been writing about the latest technologies for the past 5 years. His contribution in technology journalism has been noteworthy. He is also a day trader with interest in the Forex market.