In the beginning, Instagram allowed you to block a person and that’s it, but over time it has gained all kinds of intermediate points because not everything is black and white. Options also came to restrict and silence accounts, which also limit interactions, but not as radically as a block.
If you have doubts about the differences between blocking, restricting, and muting someone on Instagram, we will tell you what each one consists of and how you can configure it, as well as a comparative table with the main differences.
What is mute on Instagram
Muting is the lightest restriction, and it’s technically not very restrictive. What changes in the visibility of posts from that account, whether they are regular posts or stories? I mean, it’s a function for when you just don’t want to see what this person posts.
Accounts you’ve muted can still see your posts, comment, and message you, and won’t know you’ve muted them, though they’ll be able to tell if you never interact with their posts. The way to mute -or unmute- someone on Instagram is very simple:
- Enter your profile
- Tap on the Following button
- Tap on Mute
- Check the box you want to mute (Posts or Stories)
What is restricted on Instagram
A bar above mute is restricted, which begins to put limits on the interactions that a person can have with you. Accounts you restrict can still write comments and send you messages, but the messages come as requests and the comments aren’t visible unless you approve them. It’s kind of like leaving this account talking to itself without it knowing.
Restricted accounts can’t see if you’re online or have read messages, though they’ll still see your posts and stories. They won’t be able to tell that you’ve restricted their account, though they will be able to tell if they suddenly don’t get read receipts or see that you’re online. To restrict an Instagram account, do this:
- Enter the profile you want to restrict
- Tap on the menu button ⋮
- Tap Restrict
What is blocking on Instagram
The concept of blocking is the easiest to distinguish since it means cutting ties the hard way. After you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to send you messages or comments, see if you’re online, or see your posts or stories.
The block works both ways, and you won’t be able to see this person’s full profile either until you remove the block. Instagram does not notify the other person that you have blocked them, although it is quite evident when it happens since your account will mysteriously disappear. Comments and likes sent by an account you’ve blocked disappear and won’t come back even if you remove the block. This is how you block someone on Instagram:
- Enter the profile of the account you want to block
- Tap on the menu button ⋮
- Choose Block
- You can choose to block this account or block this account and all future related accounts it might create
Differences between mute, restrict, and block
Taking all of the above into account, here we summarize the main differences between muting, restricting, and blocking someone on Instagram so that you can know at a glance which one suits you best according to each specific case.
|THEY CAN SEND YOU MESSAGES||Yes||Yes, but they come as requests||Nope|
|YOU CAN WRITE COMMENTS||Yes||Yes, but they are not shown publicly until you approve them||No (and previous comments are removed)|
|THEY CAN SEE IF YOU’RE ONLINE||Yes||Nope||Nope|
|THEY CAN SEE IF YOU HAVE READ THE MESSAGES||Yes||Nope||Nope|
|YOU SEE THEIR PROFILE AND POSTS||No, you can hide stories, posts or both||Yes||Nope|
|SEE YOUR PROFILE AND POSTS||Yes||Yes||Nope|
Sharlene Meriel is an avid gamer with a knack for technology. He has been writing about the latest technologies for the past 5 years. His contribution in technology journalism has been noteworthy. He is also a day trader with interest in the Forex market.